Types of Intel Motherboards and their Specifications

Posted on

The motherboard is one of the important components in the computer. Without the motherboard, the device cannot be run. Because, the components inside the computer really need the presence of a motherboard. The function of the motherboard can connect computer components such as the processor, VGA, RAM, to the USB port.

Speaking of motherboards, you need to know if each motherboard has many types. The types of motherboards are made based on consumer needs. The types of motherboards include the following.

Motherboard AT – The first motherboard ever made and has a large enough physical.
ATX Motherboard – The updated version of the AT motherboard and the physical are slightly smaller than the AT motherboard.
Micro-ATX motherboard – The ATX motherboard that is much smaller in size and features less than the ATX motherboard
LPX Motherboard – A motherboard created with a reduction in various features to expand the room and also save costs.
BTX Motherboards – Motherboards that have components that are different from other motherboards and also have features to reduce the heat temperature of the processor.
Mini-ITX motherboard – A motherboard that has a mini size that is suitable for computers that have a smaller size.
Looking at motherboards that have various types used, the company also made a socket that coincided with the latest processor launch. The socket itself is a place or a holder on the motherboard. The shape itself is square and has many holes in it for the processor.

After we know the types of motherboards that have ever been made and also sockets, Intel also makes motherboards with various types of processor sockets. Here is a list of Intel motherboards based on the socket used.

  1. Socket 423

Socket 423 is a type of processor socket that has a number of pin counts of approximately 423 pins. Therefore, this socket is called socket 423. Socket 423 is more commonly used in the early generation made by Intel such as Intel Pentium. Intel Pentium itself uses the basis of Willamette Core technology. However, socket 423 is generally shorter and also cannot last long. Intel itself only produces Socket 423 in less than one year.

  1. Socket 478

Next is Socket 478. This socket is a renewal of Socket 423 as features and capabilities are more effective than the previous version. Socket 478 has a pin count of approximately 478 pins. Therefore, this socket is used on Intel Pentium 4, and also Intel Celeron. The technology used by socket 478 is Nothwood Core. That way, Socket 478 was made to be able to compete with AMD’s processor, namely, Athion XP and Socket A 462 pin type. However, with the development of increasingly advanced tenology, these sockets began to be replaced by new socket types.

  1. Socket LGA 775

Well, Socket LGA 775 or also known as Socket Y is a renewal of Socket 478. This socket is designed only for computers such as PCs or desktops. LGA itself stands for Land Grid Array. You could say, Socket LGA 775 does not use socket holes. This socket will still have approximately 775 pins that stand out. Socket LGA 775 had become the prima donna at the time even though in the end it had to succumb to the latest generation.

  1. LGA 1156 socket

The next generation is the LGA 1156 Socket. This socket is also often called Socket H and is made as a renewal version of Socket 775. A striking difference in this socket is the connection. The previous version will usually be connected directly to the Nortbridge chipset. The Socket LGA 1156 can connect simple features that exist in Nortbridge to be integrated with the processor that is usually used.

  1. LGA 1155 socket

The LGA 1155 socket is an updated version of the LGA 1156 socket. This socket is known as H2 Socket. This LGA 1155 socket is made only for processors that use Intel chipsets called Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge. The Intel Sandy Bridge processor and also Ivy Bridge have quite striking differences even though both processors use the same socket type. The striking difference lies in his memory. The memory used on Sandy Bridge processors supports DDR3-1333 while the memory on Ivy Bridge processors supports DDR3-1600.

  1. Socket LGA 1150

The latest update from Intel is the LGA 1150 Socket. Socket LGA 1150 is also referred to as H3. This LGA 1150 socket supports Hasswell and Broadwell processors. Please note that the Hasswell Processor and Broadwell are the latest processors developed by Intel. Therefore, the LGA 1150 socket cannot be inserted into other processors, especially by different manufacturers.

Those are the types of Intel motherboards based on the socket used. You need to know that this socket has been adjusted to the processor that has been made by the manufacturer. Therefore, if the socket does not match the processor used, then it is likely that you have to replace the new sokcet or even a new motherboard too. Hopefully this article can be useful for all of you

Gravatar Image
Friendly problem solver. Writer. Falls down a lot. Travel lover. Wannabe twitter practitioner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *